This caught my attention

Despite the slew of political ads, every week, I’m looking for something interesting and unique to write about, an ad where the blog post starts getting written inside my head.

This ad caught my attention, and I didn’t even know what I was going to say, but here goes.

First things first, I liked the when I first watched it.  I’ve talked about Kinetic Typology before, and often I think it’s not used well.  Well in this ad, I think the form and the function match up pretty well.  Though the ad is derivative of this Ford ad with Denis Leary:

I don’t see that as a negative.  It’s using the cache of that ad, it’s macho and hip and slightly irreverent, by mimicking the original (done to the attitude and sound of the voice over) this ad becomes those things as well.  It uses the typology very well, representing overcrowded class, cutting education, and cuts to teachers.  I also really like the line, “If you’re thinking, aw man, just another political ad,…” It’s surprising and grabs my attention, and it shows a certain understanding of the process (though I’m not sure if downloading Rory Reid’s plan is the solution to that thought).  While you may never consciously say, this guy gets it, I think that thought passes through the audience’s mind. It’s a nice way of connecting with them — whether it actually shows up in a poll or not, I think it makes Reid more likable.

This ad works because it’s having a conversation with the audience.  It’s a nice swipe at Sandoval because it doesn’t appear mean spirited, it’s almost playful in tone.

My biggest worry about an ad like this is does it fit Rory Reid.  While they mention the candidate, he’s not really in the ad, and I’m left wondering if he’s as hip, stylish and in your face as this ad is.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “This caught my attention”

  1. jules Says:

    the reid ad is a great execution of the FORD ad (well spotted Ad Nauseum – as that caught my eye too).

    they took the time to make two jokes – “no, not mid-life crisis. c’mon people” and “not another political ad…” and it pays off handsomely.

    love it. bravo. now, if they could just photoshop rory’s haircut…

  2. Off-Target, Style over Substance « Ad Nauseam Says:

    […] the point is?  The best I can figure they’re copying the Ford ad like old Rory Reid did (which I looked at here), even the voice is […]

Leave a Reply

